There is no category chosen or category doesn't contain any items

In September 2007, the leaders of national journalists’ unions and associations in eastern Africa met in Djibouti to re-launch the Eastern African Journalists Association (EAJA), which serves as the sub-regional organization of the International Federation of Journalists (IFJ).

Visit the EAJA website

EAJA's strong governance structures have constituted an important factor contributing to EAJA's success. With elected officials answerable to the wider membership, a strong sense of accountability and transparency permeate the organisation.

EAJA is an association which requires that its National affiliates be locally registered in their respective countries to ensure that they are legal entities. EAJA advocates for freedom of expression and the respect for freedom of association for journalists throughout the region.

EAJA’s affiliate unions are the national journalists’ unions and associations of Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

It covers Eritrea where there is no journalists’ organization, and the newly born African nation of South Sudan. EAJA represents 26,000 journalists in eastern Africa region.

EAJA, which has observer status at the African Union and working relation with the Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), campaigns to preserve and promote freedom of expression and of the press, and to protect and promote the rights and interests of journalists and other media workers.